Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

2 Pages <12
Bending Planks for the Stern Options
Dontshootme
#21 Posted : 30 August 2011 09:17:36

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 posts
Groups: Registered

Castos wrote:

I will be off air until the middle of October as I will be returning to Afghanistan.
Cheers
Andre

Stay safe over there mate,see you when you get back.
Rob Nolli Illigitimi Carborundum!!!
Current Builds:HMS Victory,SV Thermopylae
Deepseacodmaster
#22 Posted : 08 September 2011 23:41:46

Castos wrote:
I am a newbie to the forum. I am having problems bending the planks to fit the stern - they either break or splinter. I have tried soaking and using a soldering iron. I have made a jig but it still splinters. Any advice will help. Any builders in the Pretoria area?

Thanks
Andre

Hi Andre

I am not an experienced builder and had the same problems as you.

This is how I got round it.

I have a cheep hand held steam cleaner.
I first glued the stern plank in the horizontal position with super glue GEL.
I left at least a 9 inch overhang of the plank. (some of them I extended by gluing a scrap piece on the end)
Then using the steamer nozzle I slowly and carefull holding the extended end of the plank bent it into the horizontal bend.
I then put the superglue gel under the bend and let it set in position. Once dry (2 minites) I switched on the steamer and twisted the plank into its vertical position.
I again used the superglue gel to glue it into position. I left about 10 mm at the end of the plank unglued.
Finally when the glue had set I cut the excess plank off.
Then ran ordinary superglue under the unglued end and pressed this down with another scrap plank.