Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

R2-D2 Direct or Local Wifi control - System requirements Options
Tomick
#1 Posted : 31 October 2018 15:09:03
Rank: Administration

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contribution
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Global Forum Support, Administrator, registriert, Official Builds, Tech Support

Joined: 08/03/2010
Posts: 18,500
Points: 51,881
Location: UK

Apple iPhone 6 or later, running IOS 11 or higher.

Android smartphones, running OS 5.0 or higher.

Once you have installed the App, you have two ways to pair it with your droid.
You can either connect it directly to his internal router (Direct mode), or connect both devices via a local Wifi network (Local mode).

semaj
#2 Posted : 31 October 2018 17:38:01

Rank: Pro

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Joined: 05/03/2017
Posts: 335
Points: 1,104
Location: Lichfield
Sounds pretty cool!

Would there be a difference on power consumption between both modes? Ie would one mode drain power faster than the other, or is it pretty much the same? Which connection type would be better?

If connected via a local network would than mean you could control r2 from anywhere, say where you work? (Like how the hive thermostat connects to your home router, then you can control it from the app anywhere for eg)? Or would you have to be connected to the same wifi network as the droid?

Any ideas roughly on the wi fi range/type (b/g/n?), curious as to how far i could drive so to speak before connection loss. If connection is lost, what happens to the droid? Is it programmed in such a way that it will stop, or revert to autonomous mode (like rc having a built in safety stop), or would it carry on?

Sorry for so many questions, these just popped up into my head after reading this as curiosities. I appreciate that you may not be able to answer them all at this stage, if at all.

Thank you for giving us information
[center]building: R2D2
Building: Red Bull RB7 RC kit
Tomick
#3 Posted : 31 October 2018 19:31:51
Rank: Administration

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contribution
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Global Forum Support, Administrator, registriert, Official Builds, Tech Support

Joined: 08/03/2010
Posts: 18,500
Points: 51,881
Location: UK
Much of what you ask is best experienced with R2 use as WiFi is one of those things that can vary from one person to another depending on environment etc etc
Tomick
#4 Posted : 30 November 2018 17:09:03
Rank: Administration

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contribution
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Global Forum Support, Administrator, registriert, Official Builds, Tech Support

Joined: 08/03/2010
Posts: 18,500
Points: 51,881
Location: UK
IMPORTANT NOTE

R2-D2 operates on a 2.4GHz network. If you have a dual band router, this will offer an alternative 5GHz band, so you will need to ensure that you are using the right settings. If you are not sure how to do this, contact the technical support for your router or broadband provider.
semaj
#5 Posted : 30 November 2018 17:20:15

Rank: Pro

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Joined: 05/03/2017
Posts: 335
Points: 1,104
Location: Lichfield
Most dual band routers automatically select the correct frequency don't they? I have a router from virgin media and some devices i use have 5GHz and some only have 2.4GHz, all devices connect fine usually.
[center]building: R2D2
Building: Red Bull RB7 RC kit
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.103 seconds.
DeAgostini