Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

3 Pages <123
RSD2 failing to starting up properly Options
Tomick
#41 Posted : 12 January 2019 21:07:13
Rank: Administration

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contribution
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Global Forum Support, Administrator, registriert, Official Builds, Tech Support

Joined: 08/03/2010
Posts: 18,836
Points: 52,971
Location: UK
PeterP wrote:
Tomick wrote:
PeterP wrote:
and if you're not a subscriber then you'll just have to preserver until it is sorted out that's the price that has to be payed.
Incorrect - if a newsagent customer, the Newsagent should be able to organise foc replacement as your contract of sale lies with the newsagent.

Incorrect - not always
The newsagent is obliged under the contract of sale and therefore if asked they have to oblige.
PeterP
#42 Posted : 12 January 2019 21:24:19

Rank: Semi-Pro Level 1


Groups: Registered

Joined: 10/12/2018
Posts: 70
Points: 225
Location: London
Tomick wrote:
PeterP wrote:
Tomick wrote:
PeterP wrote:
and if you're not a subscriber then you'll just have to preserver until it is sorted out that's the price that has to be payed.
Incorrect - if a newsagent customer, the Newsagent should be able to organise foc replacement as your contract of sale lies with the newsagent.

Incorrect - not always
The newsagent is obliged under the contract of sale and therefore if asked they have to oblige.


If asked they maybe able.
PeterP
#43 Posted : 13 January 2019 21:14:29

Rank: Semi-Pro Level 1


Groups: Registered

Joined: 10/12/2018
Posts: 70
Points: 225
Location: London
Ok a quick update i have swapped out the MCU for another one there's a slight change to the out come on start-up R2 does the same as before jumps forward no head rotation and a RED light however unlike before when i manually rotated the head nothing happened, but this time when i rotated the head from one side to the other and back to centre the RED light changed to BLUE, i have checked the dome motor separately and it works with the test cable so why it doesn't work when connected to the MCU i'm at a loss i have checked the cables themselves by buzzing them out there ok i checked the connections all correctly labelled all correctly orientated all fully seated in there sockets, maybe there's something wrong with the motor that the test cable doesn't pick up but the MCU doesn't like, i may have to get a new dome motor but not sure any one got thoughts on that? i can get R2 in to patrol mode and i can get the arms to extend, but the lightsaber doesn't work so i dismantled R2 so i could use the test circuit boards again but for some strange reason the lightsaber motor doesn't work and i dismantled the motor from the rack just in case it had become jammed which it wasn't, i did test the lightsaber motor as in issue 53 and it worked then so i'm stumped as to why it's not working now? i may have to get a new motor for that as well any one get any ideas as i can't keep assembling and disassembling R2 the cables can't take much more of it!!! i'm open to any suggestions
arpurchase
#44 Posted : 13 January 2019 21:38:09

Rank: Super-Elite

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding build
Groups: Administrators, Registered, Global Forum Support, Official Builds, Moderator, Tech Support

Joined: 27/09/2011
Posts: 13,933
Points: 42,298
Location: Dudley
Ok in the app your batterys are showing fully charged on the meter.

Could you try reinserting the casting that locks into the head motor and the head in a different position to where it is now. for example try a quarter of a turn a couple of times to see if it makes a difference.

Someone reported that sometimes the lightsaber motor wires may need checking along with the correct orientation of the cog and slot that the motor powers.
Global Forum Support Team
Current builds:-C57,Zero, Lamborghini Countach, Caldercraft HMS Agamemnon,Robi,R2-D2, MFH Cobra .

https://www.youtube.com/...4f1LE86w&app=desktop
PeterP
#45 Posted : 13 January 2019 22:15:28

Rank: Semi-Pro Level 1


Groups: Registered

Joined: 10/12/2018
Posts: 70
Points: 225
Location: London
arpurchase wrote:
Ok in the app your batterys are showing fully charged on the meter.

Could you try reinserting the casting that locks into the head motor and the head in a different position to where it is now. for example try a quarter of a turn a couple of times to see if it makes a difference.

Someone reported that sometimes the lightsaber motor wires may need checking along with the correct orientation of the cog and slot that the motor powers.


I haven't got round to using the app yet but battery's are fully charged using the charger supplied

i have already tried the casting in different position it makes no difference, head doesn't move on start-up

I've removed the lightsaber motor form the assembly completely and tested it in isolation, and i had checked that the cog wheel had meshed with the teeth on the rack before i test it in issue 53, I've had a look at the wires to the lightsaber motor the look fine bit difficult on the end where the wires are glued to the motor terminals but looks ok
arpurchase
#46 Posted : 13 January 2019 22:36:22

Rank: Super-Elite

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding build
Groups: Administrators, Registered, Global Forum Support, Official Builds, Moderator, Tech Support

Joined: 27/09/2011
Posts: 13,933
Points: 42,298
Location: Dudley
Reorder a replacement head motor from C/S.
Global Forum Support Team
Current builds:-C57,Zero, Lamborghini Countach, Caldercraft HMS Agamemnon,Robi,R2-D2, MFH Cobra .

https://www.youtube.com/...4f1LE86w&app=desktop
PeterP
#47 Posted : 13 January 2019 22:39:57

Rank: Semi-Pro Level 1


Groups: Registered

Joined: 10/12/2018
Posts: 70
Points: 225
Location: London
arpurchase wrote:
Reorder a replacement head motor from C/S.


Ok will do.

Any thoughts on the lightsaber issue?
arpurchase
#48 Posted : 13 January 2019 22:45:49

Rank: Super-Elite

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding build
Groups: Administrators, Registered, Global Forum Support, Official Builds, Moderator, Tech Support

Joined: 27/09/2011
Posts: 13,933
Points: 42,298
Location: Dudley
Try testing the wires from the light saber back to the circuit board if all is ok there check the multi plug conection between the circuit board to the MCU.
Global Forum Support Team
Current builds:-C57,Zero, Lamborghini Countach, Caldercraft HMS Agamemnon,Robi,R2-D2, MFH Cobra .

https://www.youtube.com/...4f1LE86w&app=desktop
PeterP
#49 Posted : 13 January 2019 22:51:56

Rank: Semi-Pro Level 1


Groups: Registered

Joined: 10/12/2018
Posts: 70
Points: 225
Location: London
arpurchase wrote:
Try testing the wires from the light saber back to the circuit board if all is ok there check the multi plug conection between the circuit board to the MCU.


Wire from the lightsaber to the circuit board looks ok

Multi plug connection which i assume is the one with the pair of red and white connectors and held in a cable tidy has been checked, i buzzed it out to check for continuity between both ends and it checked out ok
Users browsing this topic
Guest
3 Pages <123
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.145 seconds.
DeAgostini